2018 FCCMA Academic Scholarship Program

FCCMA offers up to four academic-based scholarship: including the B. Harold Farmer Scholarship and the Raymond C. Sittig Scholarship.

The scholarship recipients will be recognized at the FCCMA Annual Conference May 30 – June 2, 2018. The recipients of the B. Harold Farmer and Raymond C. Sittig Scholarships will each receive a $5,000 scholarship. The recipients of the Academic Scholarships will each receive a $2,500 scholarship. All scholarship recipients will receive an all-expense paid trip to the Conference. The major non-monetary benefit of the scholarships is the networking opportunity available at the Conference. More than 200 city and county managers and many of their management staff attend.

The scholarships also include a one-year complimentary membership to the Florida City and County Management Association (FCCMA) and to the International City/County Management Association (ICMA).

2018 FCCMA Academic Scholarship

B. Harold Farmer Scholarship
The B. Harold Farmer Scholarship was initiated in 1992 in honor and memory of B. Harold Farmer, a FCCMA past president, who served as a mentor for many Florida city and county managers. Mr. Farmer worked in municipal government as a city manager for about 25 years and helped establish the Florida Innovations Group, now the Alliance for Innovation. This scholarship honors Mr. Farmer’s commitment to professional local government management and the use of innovation to deliver services to Florida residents.

B. Harold Farmer Past Recipients

Raymond C. Sittig Scholarship
The Raymond C. Sittig Scholarship was initiated in 2014 in honor and memory of Raymond C. Sittig, long-time executive director of the Florida League of Cities and champion of Home Rule powers. Ray came to Florida to become a city manager but instead of working for one city he was a champion for all cities. He served as executive director for 25 years and when he retired he was named executive director emeritus. In 1978 Ray agreed to be the FCCMA’s administrator out of respect for the profession and his desire to build a strong relationship between FCCMA and the FLC.

Raymond C Sittig Scholarship Past Recipients

Emerging Leaders Scholarship

The FCCMA Annual Conference Emerging Leaders Scholarship is designed to allow public administration students and entry-level city and county management professionals interested in continuing their academic and professional development as professional public managers to attend the annual conference. The FCCMA conference is a professional development program designed to promote continued education and networking opportunities in the municipal and county management profession. The scholarship is awarded to individuals once per lifetime.

The scholarship includes complimentary registration to the annual conference and hotel room, and a one-year complimentary membership to the FCCMA. Scholarship recipients are responsible for their own travel and food. Most food is covered in the registration cost.  The hotel stay will include three nights. Recipients will be honored and recognized at the annual conference.

2018 FCCMA Emerging Leaders Scholarship

Emerging Leaders Scholarship Past Recipients