Female boss shows presentation on screen at business meeting

Announcing the Florida City and County Management Association (FCCMA) 2021 Awards Program.

Deadline to submit nominations is March 8, 2021.

Each year, the FCCMA recognizes leaders in the profession that have demonstrated professionalism and service within the field of public administration. Nominated and selected by their peers, award recipients are all recognized during the annual conference. The 2021 Annual Conference will be held at the Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek, June 2-5, 2021.

Nominees for each award must submit a completed application, cover letter and any supporting materials for these awards. For questions, contact Carol Russell at crussell@flcities.com.

Award Categories

The Richard (Dick) Simmons Lifetime Achievement Award is awarded to an exemplary individual who has served the profession or the Association with steadfast dedication, innovation and the highest standard of excellence. This award is a memorial to Dick Simmons – pioneer in the profession, past FCCMA president, range rider emeritus and a 60+ year FCCMA member. To be eligible for consideration for this prestigious award, an individual must be nominated by a voting member of the FCCMA and meet the following criteria:

  • A minimum of 30 years working in local government, with at least 20 years at the level of assistant city/county manager or higher;
  • A member of ICMA and FCCMA, in good standing;
  • Demonstrated member of ICMA and commensurate state management association(s) for at least 20 years;
  • Demonstrated contributions made to state management associations over their career; and/or
  • Contributions made over one’s lifetime in the likeness of Richard (Dick) Simmons.

Richard Simmons Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

The Michael J. Roberto Award for Career Development recognizes an FCCMA member who has made a significant contribution to the development of new talent in professional local government management (internships, mentoring, etc.). This award is a memorial to Mike Roberto, a past president of the FCCMA, and a recognized leader in the development of public management careers.

Michael J Roberto Award for Career Development Recipients

The Professional Management Matters Award recognizes an outstanding and long-term local government administrator who has fostered representative democracy by enhancing the effectiveness of local elected officials and by consistently initiating creative and successful programs. Nominees must be endorsed by a past or present elected official.

Professional Management Excellence Award Recipients

The Assistant for Excellence in Leadership Award is awarded to an FCCMA member who has significantly demonstrated excellence in leadership while serving as an assistant (regardless of title) to a chief local government administrator or department head. Nominees must be full-time employees and endorsed by their chief administrative officer.

Assistant for Excellence in Leadership Award Recipients

2021 Awards Program Nomination

  • Award Nominee Information

    Use a separate form for each nomination. Attach a cover letter (no more than one page) summarizing why this person should be considered as a nominee for the award. All submittals must be electronic, no larger than 5mb and received by Carol Russell at crussell@flcities.com by 5:00 p.m. on March 8, 2021. Late entries will not be considered. A confirmation email will be sent.
  • Ex. Richard (Dick) Simmons Lifetime Achievement Award, Michael J. Roberto Award For Career Development, Professional Management Excellence Award or Assistant for Excellence in Leadership Award.
  • Award Nominator Information

  • Supplemental Information

    Supporting documentation may be included with the nomination that more fully explains why your nominee is a suitable candidate for the award. This documentation may include scanned newspaper clippings, project summaries, pictures or may simply be a more-detailed explanation of what the nominee has done to make him or her stand out above the other in this category.
  • List if the nominee has served on the board or list the committees the nominee has served on
  • Drop files here or
    Accepted file types: pdf.
    The attachments may include letters of recommendation from the mentees for the Roberto award; how the nominee enhanced elected officials or what programs nominee has successfully initiated and created for the Professional Management award; how the assistant has contributed, what contributions the nominee has made to local government for the Dick Simmons award etc.

FCCMA Who’s Who Under 40 Award


The FCCMA Who’s Who Under 40 program recognizes local government leaders in Florida under the age of 40 for their personal and professional excellence. Those selected are among the industry’s top emerging talent and will be an integral part of the FCCMA and local government administration for years to come.

The recipients will not only have a great aptitude for local government work, but they will possess and uphold the ethical principles of the profession, the FCCMA and the ICMA. Each nominee must be an FCCMA member with a minimum of two years in good standing, as well as be a current local government employee. The application includes questions for both the nominees and nominators. Specific examples are required, with the optional recommendation letters strongly encouraged.

The FCCMA Scholarship and Awards Subcommittee will review the applications and perform the initial eligibility screening. A panel of FCCMA past presidents will select up to three award recipients. The deadline to register is March 8, 2021. If you have any questions, please contact Carol Russell at (850) 701-3607 or crussell@flcities.com.


    • Nominee must be between 18 and 39 years of age as of May 31.
    • Nominee must be employed in local government.
    • Nominee must be a Florida City and County Management Association (FCCMA) member in good standing for at least two years.
    • Nominee must exemplify the tenets of the ICMA code of ethics.
    • Nominee must be current with the required ethics training prior to nomination being received by FCCMA.


    • Nominee and Nominator information
    • Application Questionnaire
    • Nominee’s Resume
    • One letter of recommendation

• If self-nominated, the letter must come from a supervisor or peer at the director level or above

2021 Who's Who Under 40 Award

  • Nominee Information

  • Date Format: MM slash DD slash YYYY
  • Nominator Information

  • Nominator Questionnaire (Answer if self-nominated as well)

  • Nominee Questionnaire